The ghosts of Beverly drive

[Verse 1]If only you had known me before the accident

For with that grand collision, came a grave consequence

Receptors overloaded; they burst and disconnect

Til there was little feeling, please work with what is left
[Verse 2]

I have not been flattered that you never been here before

So there’s no need to mention, that you’ve no firsts anymore

But if you let me be your skyline, I’ll let you be the wave

That reduces me to rubble, but looked safe from far away
[Chorus]

I don’t know why, I don’t know why I return to the scenes of these crimes

Where the hedgerows slowly wind, through the ghosts of Beverly Drive

I don’t know why, I don’t know why, I don’t know what I expect to find

Where all the news is secondhand, and everything just goes on as planned
[Bridge]

You wanna teach but not be taught

And I wanna sell but not be bought

So let us not be lonesome

So let us not be lonesome

Lost in between our needs and wants

Our needs and wants
[Chorus]

I don’t know why, I don’t know why, I return to the scenes of these crimes

Where the hedgerows slowly wind, through the ghosts of Beverly Drive

I don’t know why, I don’t know why, I don’t know what I expect to find

Where all the news is secondhand, and everything just goes on as planned
I don’t know why, I don’t know why (x4)

-death cab for cutie copyright 2015 bmg rights management 

Leave a Reply

